Bulgaria Overview

Downtown Sofia
Downtown Sofia

Official Name:

Republic of Bulgaria


Area: 110 994 sq. km. (slightly larger than Tennessee)
Major cities: Capital - Sofia (1.2 million). Others - Plovdiv (350 000), Varna (300 000)
Terrain: Bulgaria is located in South Central Europe. The terrain is varied, containing large mountainous areas, fertile valleys, plains and a coastline along the Black Sea. Bulgaria shares a border with Turkey and Greece to the south, Macedonia and Yugoslavia to the west, Romania to the north and the Black Sea to the east. The capital, Sofia, lies in the western region of the country.
Climate: Continental - mild summers and cold, snowy winters.


Population (July 2005 est.): 5 562 151
Growth rate (July 2005 est.): -1.87 %
Ethnic groups (1998): Bulgarian 83 %, Turkish 8.5 %, Roma 2.6 %, and others
Religions (1998): Bulgarian Orthodox 83.5 %, Muslim 13 %, Roman Catholic 1.5 %, others
Official language: Bulgarian
Health: Life expectancy (2005 est.) - male: 63.21 years; female: 71.93 years

We've tried to make the information on this web site as accurate as possible, but it is provided 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by anyone resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (like visas, health and safety, customs and transportation) with the relevant authorities before you travel.